Pembroke’s Hall was designed by Alfred Waterhouse in 1874 but radically altered in 1925 when two floors of undergraduate accommodation were inserted in the open roof space by Maurice Webb. In the twentieth century the problem was compounded when lifts and a staircase to the potwash below were introduced, protruding into the hall space. NRAP, after negotiations with Conservation Officers and English Heritage, obtained consent for a thickening of the Waterhouse screen, which incorporates a new stair and lift. Acoustic plaster was incorporated in the ceiling, and this, with a new lighting scheme, designed by DPA Lighting consultants, new curtains and specialist re-decoration in casein distemper has enhanced the experience of the hall for students, fellows and visitors.
Despite the intricacies of the project’s execution, which was undertaken across two academic years and involved temporary kitchens in a marquee, the work was completed on time and within budget. The project was given a Cambridge Design and Construction Award, and an article on the scheme was published in the Journal of Conservation.